I’d like to spend a little time today explaining some simple steps in going gluten-free. There is so much misinformation out there and by making some simple adjustments you will be on the road to better health! To begin with all fresh produce is your friend. Fruit, vegetables can be turned into delicious meals as well as snacks.

If you are and omnivore, choices such as meat, chicken, fish and eggs are all considered a safe choice. Another protein option is tofu, a soy source of protein easily combined into a vegetable stir fry, soup or even a dessert. One point I must mention is you will see on your grocer’s shelf a product called seitan. This will be sitting right next to your tofu, but it is made from vital wheat gluten and should be avoided.

Now I would be remiss if I did not mention the favorite category of most of us, the ever loving carbs.Yes, you can still have carbs, and there are more options than you might think: Rice, rice pasta, Corn pasta, polenta, potatoes and Quinoa. To those of you who are not familiar with this ancient grain, it packs allot of bang for your diet. Loaded with protein and fiber it can be used as a substitute for bulgur wheat.

Oats have become a controversial topic in the celiac community. Although the protein in oats is not the exact same problematic protein found in wheat, rye, barley and spelt, commercial oats have been found to contain gluten, possibly due to cross contamination in the harvesting, storing and milling process. Oats are high in fiber both soluble and insoluble. My favorite GF Company is Bakery on Main. This delightful company offers a wider range of gluten free oatmeal, granola and bars. In particular they offer a high fiber granola called Fiber Power. This product is great sprinkled on yogurt, ice cream or even cooked and eaten warm.

Dairy products such as milk, cheese and yogurt are all gluten free yet many who are Celiac are also intolerant to lactose. Commonly called lactose intolerant. This symptom exists due to the inability to digest the sugar in milk. More than fifty percent of all Celiacs are also lactose intolerant. There are several gluten-free vegan cheese alternatives on the market made from rice, almonds, cashews, pea protein or soy.
More to come…

Image

Advertisements